What­sApp Mute and Block Process

What­sApp Mute and Block Process- Know the Details

Most of us use WhatsApp on a daily basis to keep in touch with friends, family, and even business. Since WhatsApp does not require any users, anyone with your number can message you. As a result, you get lots of spam or generous messages. Your WhatsApp has two great features to avoid such messages - mute and block. Each message is used to limit but in different ways.

What is a block?

Blocking is a tough way to block messages from someone. When you block a contact, they can't have a conversation with you because the block limits all types of communication - live chat, voice calls and video calls.

What is mute?

A friendly alternative to the silent block. Simply put, mute means mute notifications. When you mute a chat, you will not receive any audio notifications when you send a direct message to a contact. To check for new messages from this person, you need to check the silent chat of communication on WhatsApp.

What­sApp Mute and Block Process- Know the Details
What­sApp Mute and Block Process


Group and private chat

You can mute private chats and groups, you can simply block individual chats. The block feature is not available for groups. You must exit the group to stop receiving messages from it.

There are two important things to keep in mind when using these features:

1. When you block a private chat, group chats with them are not affected. Meaning, even if you can't communicate with each other in person, blocked communication can still send messages to common groups. Both can see each other's messages in the group.

2. Similarly, you will receive notifications for silent communication in group conversations. Silencing them individually will have no effect on group chat. You need to mute to notify a group. And when you mute groups, it doesn't change the private chat notifications from its members.

Last seen, online situation and profile picture of what happened

When you block a contact, the person will not see your last visit, profile picture or online status while you are active on WhatsApp. But silent communication can see all those details.


WHAT HAPPENS TO WHATSAPP CALLS


Closes all WhatsApp communication with someone, including blocked calls. You cannot make or receive voice or video calls. But in other applications, there are no conversations or calls. The blocked person can still contact you outside of WhatsApp.

When you mute a chat, the mute contact can call you. Interestingly, muted calls will not mute notifications - it will only mute message notifications.


What happens to the past conversations?

When you block or mute someone, nothing of the past conversation happens. These chats will be on WhatsApp if you don't delete them manually.


Message condition

WhatsApp has three icons to show the status of the message. A single gray tick means the message has been sent but not delivered, two gray ticks mean the message has been delivered, and two blue ticks mean the message has been read.

When a blocked person sends you a message, they will only receive a gray tick. Since you can't send a message to a blocked contact, there is no message status for you.

In contrast, message status follows the rules for silent contacts. When a message is delivered they will get two gray ticks and it will turn blue when you read the message.


How do you say if you are blocked or muted?

There is no way to know if you have been muted. But when it comes to blocking it, there is no direct way to do it, but you can get it out of a number of things. For example, if the person's profile picture or online status is missing, or there is always a gray tick in the messages, you should know something about fish.


What happens when you block or unmute

You will be notified of future messages when you mute a chat. When you unlock a person, you get new messages from them. However, you will not receive the messages you sent when you blocked the sender.


How to mute on Whatsapp

To mute a private or group chat, follow these steps:

Step 1: Launch WhatsApp and open the chat you want to mute.

Step 2: Tap the three-dot icon in the top right corner and select Notifications from the menu.

Step 3: A pop-up will appear. Select the period for which you want to mute the notifications and tap Ok.

If you want to appear in the notification tray in the notifications without a word, you can enable the display of notifications in this step. Otherwise, you need to open WhatsApp to check notifications from silent chat.

Alternatively, tap and hold the talk in the chat list and press the mute icon at the top. To mute, open the chat and tap the three-dot icon. Then select Activation Notifications from the menu.


How to block in Whatsapp

Follow these steps to block a contact:

Step 1: Go to the chat you want to block and tap on the three-dot icon in the top-right corner. Select more from the menu.

Step 2: Under More, select the block. A pop-up will appear. Tap on the block.

To unblock, repeat the steps and tap Unblock To see all your blocked contacts, navigate to WhatsApp Settings> Accounts> Privacy> Blocked Contacts.


Final Words

Both mute and block are used to avoid people, they are very different from each other. One is simply used to block notifications, and the other blocks all communication from any contact on WhatsApp. You may want to mute your family parties or your distant relatives who continue to send good morning messages. On the other hand, use blocks for your annoying ex or brands that spam a lot. Now that you are both familiar with it, he has chosen your weapon wisely.

Previous
Next Post »